How to protect your privacy on iOS

Our phone is constantly in our hands and we give it all about us, more than we would give to friends or family, and it knows more than you know about yourself.

The CNIL to affirm that approximately 30% of the applications use geolocation, sometimes several times per minute and all this information could allow to deduce information on the habits and lifestyles of the users (places of life, work, frequentation habits, mobility , attendance at healthcare establishments or places of worship).

Advertising tracking, location, tracking and many other sources of mass data collection allow you to establish a profile of you (Scoring Profile) which allows you to establish your consumption habits, your place of life, your activity physical, your health, your religion, your sexual orientation, your dating and so on ...

All of this information about your privacy is processed and analyzed by bots in order to use it to provide you with targeted advertising, targeted media, and also influence your political views, values, and a lot more.

To limit as much as possible all this storage of data concerning your private life, used against you to make you consume more, manipulate you or influence you, I am offering you a guide to reduce the collection of personal data on your Apple phone or tablet.

1. Lock your phone with a password longer than 4 characters

Protecting your privacy and security, it already starts by securing your phone from the smart guys who would try to search your phone. For that, locking your phone with a password with more than 4 characters is important.

  • Settings> Touch ID & Passcode> Change Passcode> Passcode Options
  • Select "Custom alphanumeric code" and change your pin code by a password of more than 4 characters

2. Clear data if more than 10 failed attempts

If your phone is stolen, you can reduce the risk of your confidential data ending up in the wrong hands by enabling the option to delete data after 10 failed unlock attempts.

  • Settings> Touch ID and Code
  • Activate the option "Clear data"

3. Hide notifications on the lock screen

Notifications often contain personal information such as messages or emails, to avoid prying eyes you can disable the display of notification content on the lock screen, you will always have notifications displayed on the screen of lock but not their contents

  • Settings> Notifications> Application name
  • Disable the "Show on screen lock" option

4. Turn off location sharing

As explained above, your location can establish a lot of things about you; so be sure to disable it whenever you no longer need it, as well as for location sharing on Find my iPhone, Snapchat, Instagram, Twitter, Facebook and all other applications

  • Settings> Privacy> Location services> Share my location
  • Disable the "Share my location" option

5. Disable location for apps that don't need it

Likewise, some applications ask to access your location when they do not need it. All applications except GPS or weather do not need your location, so you have to turn off location access

  • Settings> Privacy> Location services
  • Disable location for apps that don't need it
  • System services> Disable unnecessary options and diagnostics and advertising

6. Disable access to sensitive data to applications that do not need it

Some apps may also want to access your calendar or photos when they don't necessarily need it. In this case, it is necessary to deactivate their access to this sensitive data.

  • Settings> Privacy> Contacts> Disable apps that don't need them
    Settings> Privacy> Calendars> Disable apps that don't need them
    Settings> Privacy> Reminders> Disable apps that don't need them
    Settings> Privacy> Photos> Disable apps that don't need them
    Settings> Privacy> Bluetooth sharing> Disable applications that do not need it
    Settings> Privacy> Micro> Disable apps that don't need them
    Settings> Privacy> Camera> Disable apps that don't need it
    Settings> Privacy> HomeKit> Disable apps that don't need it
    Settings> Privacy> Media library> Disable apps that don't need them

7. Uninstall applications you no longer use

Often you install an application because you need it only once and forget to uninstall it, but it is very important to uninstall unnecessary applications because they collect data when you are no longer using the application. It is therefore an additional confidential data leak

  • Uninstall as many unnecessary applications as possible

8. Activate limited ad tracking

This is very important to avoid having targeted advertisements, as mentioned above at the beginning. Be careful though, you will still have advertisements but they will no longer target you.

  • Settings> Privacy> Advertising> Enable "Limited ad tracking"
  • And reset your advertising ID from time to time

9. Disable Analytics

It is also very important to deactivate diagnostic and usage reports to avoid sharing your usage habits as a consumer

  • Settings> Privacy> Diagnosis and use
  • Select "Do not send"

10. Stop using Google!

Rule of thumb do not use the Google search engine and its services if you value your privacy because google is the worst when it comes to privacy and ethical values. Do not use Google Photo or Google Drive to store your photos and documents either, prefer to make backups from time to time on a hard drive that you will keep unplugged from any computer when you are not using it, and to change the engine search, instead use powerful and Google-like alternatives that respect your privacy like DuckDuckGo (A safe bet) or Qwant (A French search engine that also respects your privacy)

To set DuckDuckGo as the default search engine on safari:

  • Settings> Safari> Search engine> Select DuckDuckGo

And / Or even better, use the browser Brave for iOS:

Bouton de téléchargement dans l'App Store d'Apple

Congratulations & Conclusion

You have just taken a big step forward in improving your privacy and data on the internet and on your phone, few people realize it today because they have no digital conscience. But if each of you understands the challenges of future freedoms and starts to protect your privacy on the Internet, we can regain control of our future, but unfortunately we are still far enough away. Changes and additions are likely to be made to this guide in order to keep up with progress. Do not hesitate to subscribe to our newsletter available at the bottom of the site.

This article was inspired by the document iPhone Privacy Tips from DuckDuckGo

0
Matissime Written by:

15 years old, passionate about new technologies and defender of privacy rights on the internet, I try to make as many people as possible aware of the challenges of new technologies on the future in our society by explaining the problems and giving ethical solutions and has great potential!

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

16 − 3 =

Comment protéger sa vie privée sur iOS

Notre téléphone est constamment entre nos mains et nous lui donnons tout sur nous, plus que nous donnerions à des amis ou à des membres de notre famille, et il sait plus que vous vous savez sur vous même.

La CNIL à affirmer qu’environ 30 % des applications utilisent la géolocalisation, parfois plusieurs fois par minute et toutes ces informations pourraient permettre de déduire des informations sur les habitudes et modes de vie des utilisateurs (lieux de vie, de travail, habitudes de fréquentation, mobilité, fréquentation d’établissements de soins ou de lieux de culte).

Le suivi publicitaire, la localisation, le tracking et plein d’autres sources de collecte de données en masse permettent d’établir un profil de vous (Profil Scoring) qui permet d’établir vos habitude de consommation, votre lieu de vie, votre activité physique, votre santé, votre religion, votre orientation sexuelle, vos fréquentations et j’en passe…

Toutes ces informations concernant votre vie privée sont traitées et analysées par des robots afin de les utiliser pour vous proposer des publicités ciblées, des médias ciblés, et aussi influencer vos opinions politiques, vos valeurs, et un tas d’autre choses.

Pour limiter au maximum tout cet emmagasinement de données concernant votre vie privée, utilisé contre vous pour vous faire consommez plus, vous manipuler ou vous influencer je vous propose un guide permettant de réduire la récolte de données personnelles sur votre téléphone ou tablette Apple.

1. Verrouiller votre téléphone avec un mot de passe de plus de 4 caractères

Protéger sa vie privée et sa sécurité, ça commence déjà en sécurisant son téléphone des petits malins qui essayeraient de fouiller votre téléphone, Pour cela verrouiller votre téléphone avec un mot de passe avec plus de 4 caractères est important.

  • Paramètres > Touch ID et Code > Changer le code > Options de code
  • Sélectionnez « Code alphanumérique personnalisé » et changer votre code pin par un mot de passe à plus de 4 caractères

2. Effacer les données en cas de plus de 10 tentatives échouées

Si votre téléphone est volé, vous pouvez réduire le risque que vos données confidentielles se retrouvent dans de mauvaise mains en activant l’option qui permet de supprimer les données au bout de 10 tentatives de déverrouillage échouées

  • Paramètres > Touch ID et Code
  • Activer l’option « Effacer les données »

3. Cacher les notifications sur l’écran de verrouillage

Les notifications contiennent souvent des informations personnelles comme des message ou des emails, pour éviter les regards indiscrets vous pouvez désactiver l’affichage des contenus des notifications sur l’écran de verrouillage, vous aurez toujours les notifications qui s’affiche sur l’écran de verrouillage mais pas leurs contenus

  • Paramètres > Notifications > Nom de l’application
  • Désactiver l’option « Afficher sur l’écran verrouiller »

4. Désactiver le partage de localisation

Comme expliqué précédemment, votre localisation peut permettre d’établir énormément de chose sur vous; donc pensez bien à la désactiver à chaque fois que vous n’en avez plus besoin, de même pour le partage de localisation sur Localiser mon iPhone, Snapchat, Instagram, Twitter, Facebook et toutes autres applications

  • Paramètres > Confidentialité > Service de localisations > Partager ma position
  • Désactiver l’option « Partager ma position »

5. Désactiver la localisation pour les applications qui n’en n’ont pas besoin

De même certaines applications demandent d’accéder à votre localisation alors qu’elle n’en ont pas besoin. Toutes les applications à part le GPS ou la météo n’ont pas besoin de votre localisation, il faut donc désactiver l’accès à la localisation

  • Paramètres > Confidentialité > Service de locations
  • Désactiver l’accès à la localisation au applications qui n’en n’ont pas besoin
  • Services systèmes > Désactiver les options non nécessaires et les diagnostics et publicité

6. Désactiver l’accès aux données sensibles aux applications qui n’en n’ont pas besoin

Certaines applications peuvent aussi vouloir accéder à votre calendrier ou à vos photos alors qu’elles en n’ont pas forcément besoin. Dans ce cas là, il est nécessaire de désactiver leur accès à ces données sensibles

  • Paramètres > Confidentialité > Contacts > Désactiver les applications qui en n’ont pas besoins
    Paramètres > Confidentialité > Calendriers > Désactiver les applications qui en n’ont pas besoins
    Paramètres > Confidentialité > Rappels > Désactiver les applications qui en n’ont pas besoins
    Paramètres > Confidentialité > Photos > Désactiver les applications qui en n’ont pas besoins
    Paramètres > Confidentialité > Partage bluetooth > Désactiver les applications qui en n’ont pas besoins
    Paramètres > Confidentialité > Micro > Désactiver les applications qui en n’ont pas besoins
    Paramètres > Confidentialité > Appareil photo > Désactiver les applications qui en n’ont pas besoins
    Paramètres > Confidentialité > HomeKit > Désactiver les applications qui en n’ont pas besoins
    Paramètres > Confidentialité > Bibliothèque multimédia > Désactiver les applications qui en n’ont pas besoins

7. Désinstaller les applications que vous n’utilisez plus

Souvent on installe une application car on en a besoin une seul fois et on oublie de la désinstaller, mais il est très important de désinstaller les applications inutiles car elles récoltent des données alors que vous n’utilisez plus l’application. C’est donc une fuite de données confidentielles en plus

  • Désinstallez un maximum d’applications inutiles

8. Activer le suivi publicitaire limité

C’est très important pour éviter d’avoir des publicités ciblées, comme précédemment cité au début, Attention tout de même, vous aurez toujours des publicités mais elles ne vous cibleront plus.

  • Paramètres > Confidentialité > Publicité > Activer « Suivi publicitaire limité »
  • Et réinitialiser votre identifiant de publicité de temps en temps

9. Désactiver les Analytiques

C’est aussi très important de désactiver les rapports de diagnostic et d’utilisation pour ainsi éviter de partager ses habitudes d’utilisation en tant que consommateur

  • Paramètres > Confidentialité > Diagnostic et utilisation
  • Sélectionnez « Ne pas envoyer »

10. N’utilisez plus Google !

Règle de base n’utilisez pas le moteur de recherche Google et ses services si vous tenez à votre vie privée car google est le pire en ce qui concerne le respect de la vie privée et les valeurs éthique. N’utilisez pas non plus Google Photo ou Google Drive pour stocker vos photos et documents, préférez faire des sauvegardes de temps en temps sur un disque dur que vous garderez débranché de tout ordinateur quand vous ne l’utiliserez pas, et pour changer de moteur de recherche, utilisez plutôt des alternatives puissantes et ressemblantes à Google qui respectent votre vie privée comme DuckDuckGo (Une valeur sûr) ou Qwant (Un moteur de recherche français qui respecte aussi votre vie privée)

Pour mettre DuckDuckGo en tant que moteur de recherche par défaut sur safari :

  • Paramètres > Safari > Moteur de recherche > Sélectionnez DuckDuckGo

Et/Ou encore mieux, utilisez le navigateur Brave pour iOS :

Bouton de téléchargement dans l'App Store d'Apple

Félicitations & Conclusion

Vous venez d’avancer d’un grand pas pour améliorer votre vie privée et vos données sur internet et sur votre téléphone, peu de gens s’en rendent comptent aujourd’hui car ils n’ont pas de conscience numérique. Mais si chacun de vous comprend l’enjeux des libertés à l’avenir et se met à protéger sa vie privée sur internet on pourra reprendre le contrôle de notre avenir, mais malheureusement nous en sommes encore assez loin. Des modifications et des ajouts sont susceptibles d’être apporté à ce guide pour suivre l’évolution n’hésitez pas à vous abonner à notre newsletter disponible en bas du site.

Cette article à été inspiré du document iPhone Privacy Tips de DuckDuckGo

0
Matissime Écrit par :

Jeune de 15 ans, passionné par les nouvelles technologies et défenseur des droits à la vie privée sur internet, je cherche à sensibiliser un maximum de personnes aux enjeux des nouvelles technologies sur l'avenir dans notre société en expliquant les problèmes et donnant des solutions éthiques et a fort potentiel !

Soyez le premier à commenter

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

14 − 13 =